Home > Personal, Sports > Vancouver Ultimate League Summer 2013

Vancouver Ultimate League Summer 2013

Just wanted to say that I’m excited for this summer’s VUL season :). For the first time, I’m playing two nights a week so I’ll be getting plenty of exercise this summer (the past three seasons I played only once a week).

After the first week of games, I’m feeling pretty good about myself physically. In previous seasons, the first few weeks are tough for me since I’m out of shape from the lack of physical activity during the winter and spring and it takes a while for me to regain the same level of conditioning that I’m accustomed to playing at. However last spring, I played ultimate in a hat league so I’m already in shape for the summer.

This is also the first time since I was introduced to ultimate that I’m playing with new people (it’ll probably be the last time too). We played two games and won both of them by one point so that’s a good start to the season. We had good team chemistry even though most of us hadn’t played together before and everyone received the disc several times which was great since I was afraid some of the new players weren’t going to receive the disc at all during the game.

There are two things that I’ll be working on this summer:

1. Watching my language
Yup I’m serious about this. Whenever I make a bad pass or fail to catch the disc, I usually let out an expletive or two. This detracts from the spirit of the game. Last week, our team got only a 6.7/10 for our spirit score. I’m not sure why, but I’ll assume that part of the reason was due to my swearing.

2. Hucking
Throwing is my weakest area. I’ll be playing handler a lot more this summer since one of the teams I’m on has more inexperienced players. This will give me more opportunities to practice hucking the disc (those who have seen me play will realize that I’m not much of a threat to huck the disc when I have it).

I’m hoping to win the keg of beer at the end of summer. I’ve never been close to winning it, but I’m expecting great things this summer >:)

Categories: Personal, Sports
  1. May 17, 2013 at 3:18 am

    Wow haven’t played ultimate in years! This post made me miss it 🙂

    • May 17, 2013 at 10:27 am

      Haha ya, you should play, it’s really fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

