Home > Personal > A Simple Memory

A Simple Memory

My dad is always reminding me of the little things I did when I was a child, some of it I still remember, some I have forgotten. He cherishes those memories because they make him happy and proud as a father. Even though the memories centered around me (many of them didn’t even involve my dad), I considered those specific events during my childhood to be trivial. I never understood how a simple memory could have a strong emotional impact on a person such as my dad until recently when I took the time to reflect on a broken friendship (by recent I mean a few months ago, I am pretty slow with updates…).

There is one moment I won’t forget though. I was at a house party and someone brought a bag of cherries for the group. I noticed no one was eating the cherries because they weren’t washed yet. Therefore I decided to wash the cherries myself since other people probably wanted to eat the cherries. Shortly after I begun washing them, my (then) friend came to help me. So for the next five minutes or so, we washed all the cherries, throwing away the ones that weren’t edible and cutting off the damaged parts. While we were washing the cherries, she told me how her mom always yells at her when she washes fruits at home for only herself and not her whole family. We served the cherries to the group afterwards and all of us finished them pretty quickly.

I hadn’t asked for any help nor had I expected any since it was an easy task that wouldn’t even take me ten minutes to do. However I still appreciated the gesture. I’m sure if it was someone else washing the cherries, she would still help that person too.

Fast forward to the present…she and I aren’t friends anymore, but that’s ok. I still don’t fully understand how, but this memory, albeit a simple one, is a big reason why I’m not angry at her for how she has treated me since then. I know she’s still angry every time she sees me. Perhaps the first step to soothing her conscience would be to find her own happy memory involving her and me…

Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

