Home > Bulletin, Personal > Board Games to Try Out

Board Games to Try Out

September 27, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

So everyone has probably heard of and even played the classic board games such as Monopoly, Clue, The Game of Life, Scrabble etc… but there are a lot more interesting ones that I never knew existed until some friends introduced me to them since last year (and they are still continually introducing me to new games). This is only a small percentage of games I recently learned to play, but some of my favourites are:

DOMINION – You have to build your deck on the fly aiming for the most efficient way to get as many victory points as you can. I’m terrible at this game, but it’s still fun to play. I once finished a game with a negative score which is pretty fail…

FRESCO – This game is unique in that you need a different kind of foresight than simply thinking three moves ahead like in chess. During your turn you have several actions, but you have to plan all of it beforehand then commit to it. Each action builds from the previous action so you have to envision how your turn will play out when planning your actions.

DIXIT – A fun party game that I recommend to everyone. The idea is similar to Apples to Apples. You have to be creative and know how other players think. Unlike Apples to Apples, other players have less of an influence on how well you do in the game. Oh did I mention that the game pieces are cute little coloured bunnies?

SETTLERS OF CATAN – Probably the most troll board game ever. You are competing against others to gather resources and build settlements. It is the one game where I will rage and swear every five minutes and I’m not exaggerating. The only thing I don’t like is that it is too luck based (which is part of the reason why I rage a lot during the game). Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any friendships that may be ruined as a result of playing this game.

7 WONDERS – I don’t have much to say about this game (it’s still very fun though) other than that you have to gather resources to build your wonders through three stages. Note for beginners: it’s very important to pay attention to who you sit in between during the game as that will influence the strategy you use.

AGRICOLA – The hardest game I have ever played in terms of strategy and management. It’s a farming game that’s cooler than farmville. There are a lot of things to balance such as building your house, plowing land, raising and breeding livestock, earning income, growing crops and making babies (I’m serious here). And did you know Agricola means farmer in Latin?

Categories: Bulletin, Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

