Home > Personal, Philosophy > Tired of Waiting

Tired of Waiting

I’ve actually been planning to write about this for over a year now, but never got around to doing so…

My biggest pet peeve is waiting and it’s the one thing I will bitch about. I don’t mind if people are only 5-10 minutes late, but when they are habitually over 30 minutes late, then that becomes a big problem. When you make other people wait for you (regardless of the reason), essentially you are disrespecting their time.

There is also a matter of integrity here. When you agree to meet with someone at a designated time, you are making a commitment to show up at that time and it is your responsibility to honour it. During that time, the other party has already agreed to make you a priority when he or she could be doing anything else. Also the effort required to be on time for job interviews is the same as for other appointments so why can’t people show the same diligence for both?

Recently I attended an event where the majority of the people were late. It was scheduled to start at 11, but we didn’t begin until 12:30 because we had to wait for everyone else. This event was created one week in advance so there is no reason why people couldn’t make the little extra effort to plan ahead to be on time. If you want the event to start later, then speak up and we will work out a compromise. Had I expected you to come at 12:30, I would have set the event to be that time, not 11. Also if you know you’re going to be late, then it’s common courtesy to let others know well ahead of time so they can adjust their schedule accordingly. Even though the majority were late to the event, not one of them called to let us know.

A common excuse for tardiness is other people are late so I don’t have to show up on time either. For those who use that excuse, I’m not annoyed at you because you seem to understand that being late is a bad thing. Instead I feel very sad and sorry for you guys. I show up on time despite knowing others will be late because I believe it’s the considerate thing to do. I have my own principles and philosophy I live by and they are based only on what I believe is the right thing to do regardless of everyone else’s actions. Just because you see many people do something doesn’t give you the excuse to do the same thing too.

I wrote this hoping everyone will always make the extra effort to plan ahead and show up on time to future events. There is only one reason why you need to be on time and it isn’t to make me happy (that is irrelevant). It is because you respect other people’s time when they make a commitment to meet with you.

Categories: Personal, Philosophy
  1. May 23, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Amen.

    PS: We were originally scheduled to start at 9am, but we pushed it back to 11am to prevent people from being late. XD

  2. Emily
    May 24, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Oh my gosh. I agree 100 percent. I also don’t like when you’re planning a large event and people don’t know whether or not they’re coming until the very last minute.

  1. September 17, 2012 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

